Peach Cinnamon Shortbread Bars

Ontario Peach season is great… a whole basket full of peaches to have fun with. I knew I wanted to make something simple, which is always my aim. And of course, I have to make do with what I have.

I came across this recipe from TheSweetArt, which was an adaptation from SmittenKitchen and I adapted it further and came up with this recipe. I didn’t have a 9×13 pan and had to make-do with a 9×9 pan – this made the bars far more chewy and awesome. I did not have any nutmeg that the original SmittenKitchen Recipe called for. I decided to add a bit more cinnamon in this recipe… hence the new title. Also, I’m lactose intolerant and replace butter with margarine in all my baking, so this is made with Soy margarine. And lastly I doubled the peaches. I vaguely remember making the original recipe a few year ago and saying to myself I wish I doubled the peaches… and TheSweetArt recipe said the same. Boy did it come out perfect 🙂

Recipe was adapted from TheSweetArt, and she adapted it from the recipe at SmittenKitchen

Peach Cinnamon Shortbread Bars
1 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 3/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup soy margarine
1 large egg
4 peaches, pitted and thinly sliced

Preheat the oven to 375°F (190°C). And spray 9×9 inch pan with a nonstick spray
Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl with a whisk: sugar, baking powder, flour, salt and cinnamon.
Use a large fork or your fingertips to blend in melted margarine (melt by stove) and egg into the flour mixture. Mix until it’s crumbly.
Pat firmly about 3/4 of the crumbs into the bottom of the pan.
Lay a singly layer of peach slices over crumb base.
Sprinkle the rest of the crumbs over peaches and bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes and/or until top is slightly brown and you can see a little color around the edges.
Let it cool completely in the pan before cutting into squares.

Enjoy! ~n


Leave a Reply

