Banana Bread

Three ripe banana’s, a bit of time before bed, what do I do – make my tried tested and true Banana Bread. I don’t remember where I got this recipe, but I started perfecting it while in Boulder Colorado. Every Sunday my husband, boyfriend at the time, would be tied up with Football – bored out of my wits, I decided to venture into baking. I found this recipe through a simple google search, and I remember picking it out only because it was specially modified for the mile high city. Apparently baking in a high altitude makes a difference, but not to worry… it still works at sea level.

It’s a very simple recipe and I’m proud to say – I bake a damn good banana bread.

Enjoy! ~n

Banana Bread

2 cups Flour
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup soy margerine
3/4 brown sugar (or 1/2 brown sugar + 1/4 white sugar)
2 eggs beaten
3 mashed over ripe bananas

Preheat oven – 350degrees
In a large bowl mix all dry ingredients with wisk
In a med bowl mash banana’s – until lumpy
In a small bowl melt margerine for 20sec in microwave, add sugar and eggs

Fold in wet mixture into dry mix… Fold in banana’s until all flour is gone. Don’t mix too much, if over mix it’ll be too dense.

Place in preheated oven for 60minutes. Take out when golden brown crust, when in doubt, do the knife test. If the knife comes out dry, your good to go. Cool for 10 minutes and take out of pan and cool on cooling rack. When storing, place in fridge in tupperwear… perfect in the microwave the next day with coffee 😉

Leave a Reply

