Vanilla Cupcakes & Vanilla icing

Takes awhile to get the perfect recipe, and I’ve finally found one. Here’s one thing to know about my baking endevours, I bake a lot! I look endlessly online, place things up on my pinterist and have growing library of cookbooks. I only place on my blog what I know I’ll keep coming back to, and this cupcake recipe was made at least 4 times in the past 6 months and it’s a keeper!

Vanilla Cupcakes
Taken from Better Homes and Gardens Cupcakes

(I usually double the recipe since the original makes about 18 mini cupcakes. It also makes 1 9-inch round cake)
Preheat oven @350degrees

1/2 cup butter (I use earth balance)
1 egg
2 egg yolks
1 vanilla bean split or 1 teaspoon vanialla
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup white sugar (original called for 3/4 cup)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup soy milk (the original called for whipping cream)

1. Mix flour, baking powder, salt in a bowl with a wisk.

2. In a Mixer beat butter on high for 30 seconds, add sugar and beat on high for 30 seconds. Add all the eggs and vanilla, beat until combined. Scrape the sides. Alternatively add flour and soy milk (about 3 batches). Batter will be thick.

3. Fill paper lined cupcakes with the batter, about 3/4 full. I find it easier to fill a piping bag with it and use that to fill it.

4. For mini cupcakes, bake for 18min. For 9 inch cake, 20-25 min. For large cupcakes 20min. Best thing is to do the good ‘ol toothpick test to see if its done. When done let them cool for a moment, then take ’em out and cool on rack.

5. To frost, best to wait until its cold. I usually bake the night before and keep in an air night container and leave on the kitchen counter.

Vanilla Icing
Makes about 3 cups

1 cup of shortening/crisco
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
4 cups of powdered sugar
4 tablespoons soy milk (original uses milk)

In a large mixing bowl beat shortening, vanilla and almond extract with an electric mixer. Medium speed for 30 seconds. Add 2 cups of icing sugar and beat well. Add 2 tablespoons of soy milk. Gradually add the remaining sugar and the remaining soy milk. I usually slowly add more milk if needed.

To colour I use the Wilton icing colors, it’s great!

Once iced, I place in an air tight container in the fridge (usually I decorate them the night before). The icing itself lasts a good 3 days or so in the fridge.

I’m sure you will make these more than once too!

~enjoy! :)Nor

10684265_1543088539258733_3851138_n



10518200_507208439425182_1950385689_n

One response to “Vanilla Cupcakes & Vanilla icing

Leave a Reply

